Monastery

Monastery

05/02/2015

This huge building is occupied by the Friars Minor. They form a mendicant order, in imitation of St. Francis. That means they reject earthly possessions. Their building is also used for meetings of the city council. This is a reconstruction of the Friars Minor monastery that was excavated in the center of Dordrecht. It dates back to 1350. Realized are a part of the cloister, the kitchen, the refectory (dining room) and the dormter (dormitory). Originally, there have been several more spaces and buildings, including a chapel.

Read more?

  • Archeon launches inclusive guided tours for deaf, hard of hearing, blind and visually impaired visitors
  • Archeon hosts the annual Green Circle Bee Landscape meeting
  • Successful Midsummer Fair
  • Discover Roman Alphen aan den Rijn

Op onze social media staan nog meer gebeurtenissen uit de wereld van de geschiedenis!

Follow us:

© 2026 Archeon, SERA Business Design